Cuarón to judge 2008 Palme d’Or

24 Apr

Alfonso Cuarón will sit on this year’s 61st annual Cannes Film Festival feature film jury, led by American actor and director Sean Penn. Fellow judges will include actresses Natalie Portman and Alexandra Maria Lara (Germany), and directors Rachid Bouchareb (France), Sergio Castellitto (Italy), and Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Thailand).

This year, nineteen films will compete for the Palme d’Or:

  • Adoration, directed by Atom Egoyan (Canada).
  • The Changeling, directed by Clint Eastwood (USA).
  • The Argentine (Che), directed by Steven Soderbergh (Spain/USA).
  • The Palermo Shooting, directed by Wim Wenders (Italy).
  • Linha de Passe, directed by Walter Salles (Brazil).
  • 24 City, directed by Jia Zhangke (China).
  • A Christmas Story, directed by Arnaud Desplechin (France).
  • Delta, directed by Kornel Mondruczo (Hungary/Germany).
  • Gomorra, directed by Matteo Garrone (Italy).
  • Il Divo, directed by Paolo Sorrentino (Italy).
  • La Mujer Sin Cabeza, directed by Lucretia Martel (Argentina/Spain).
  • La Frontiere De L’Aube, directed by Philippe Garrel (France).
  • Le Silence De Lorna, directed by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (France/Belgium).
  • Leonera, directed by Pablo Trapero (Argentina/South Korea).
  • My Magic, directed by Eric Khoo (Singapore).
  • Three Monkeys, directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey/France/Italy).
  • Serbis, directed by Brillante Mendoza (Philippines).
  • Synecdoche, New York, directed by Charlie Kaufman (USA/France).
  • Waltz With Bashir, directed by Ari Folman (Israel).


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: