More mindblowing

18 Dec

So, he is not directing the Twilight Zone but Alfonso Cuarón has a huge year ahead with one of the most highly anticipated films of 2012 (scheduled for a November 21 release).

We’ve already heard Guillermo del Toro describe Gravity on MTV as “completely mindblowing” filmmaking, but recently main actress Sandra Bullock is insisting the same, while promoting her upcoming feature, an adaptation of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  In addition to describing the isolation of filming her character along in space, she told MTV News’ Josh Horowitz:

It is going to be so profoundly silent and big and loud. I don’t know how to explain it, because I have never seen anything like it. I never experienced anything like it. There are no words in my mental dictionary that can describe what this experience was, but once you see it, you’re, you’re just going to be like, ‘Oh my f—ing God.’

Cuarón celebrated his 50th birthday last month (November 28) and in the wave of Happy Birthdays, I nearly missed this:

Disclaimer: “Looks real but I’m just not sure,” the uploader says, but “it still looks cool though.” Regardless of whether it’s fan made or for real, I am certainly ready to have my mind blown (soooo excited).

George Clooney also had a few things to say about the production in recent months:

  • He recently told USA Today, “It is the first time I’ve been in 3-D and, hopefully, the last time.”  And,
  • Back in September, he referred to el Chivo behind the camera, and told Hollywood Reporter critic Todd McCarthy, “It’s just a beautiful story, and it’s really well done. And, I hope it ends up being a great film. Visually, I haven’t seen anything like it in my life.”

I think that’s all we’ve really heard since that really long David Heyman interview with Collider.  I’m looking forward to some production stills in the new year (*fingers crossed*) and hopefully some really substantive interviews ahead of Gravity‘s release.  I actually waited for Children of Men for like four years, so when I go through old Google news alerts in which people complain about waiting forever in 2010 for production to begin, I say hey, whatever lets the man do his best work…

***

Something else you or I might’ve missed last month – César Huerta’s (El Universal) list of the top ten elements that have revolutionised Mexican cinema in recent years:

  1. Gael García Bernal and Diego Luna, a.k.a. “los charolastras”
  2. Action and entertainment
  3. The return of animation
  4. Horror
  5. Eugenio Derbez
  6. Visual effects
  7. “History of the Street”
  8. The three amigos (need I say more?)
  9. “Pure politics” (Luis Estrada)
  10. Fedecine

Thoughts?

