Feeding speculation on the next Star Wars director

27 Feb

I was reluctant to post anything related to the speculation and rumours about who might direct the next three installments in the Star Wars franchise.  Cuarón appeared on many wishlists, but I wasn’t really sure how I felt about that (though I’m sure anything he makes will be brilliant in some way or another).  The speculation died down a little, after it was announced J.J. Abrams would direct Episode VII, but on Monday, it was re-ignited by Jim Dorey (MarketSaw), who posted the following from his francfhise source regarding Epiosde VIII or IX:

The names I mentioned to you before, remember them. Alfonso Cuaron especially. Trust me.

Normally that wouldn’t mean much to me.  I enjoyed the original Star Wars trilogy plenty (grew up with the late 90s remastered release on VHS), but I’m not exactly an enthusiast and the announcement of three new sequels wasn’t particularly exciting to me.  But then Christopher Marc (Celluloid and Cigarette Burns) made the case for taking this news a little more seriously.  “MarketSaw has been one of the only non-trades on the pulse of the new Star Wars trilogy. They were the first ones to actually announce the new trilogy and took it on the chin because LucasFilm didn’t confirm the news for ages.”  Read more.

Thoughts?

