September update

4 Sep

I could be one of the laziest fanbloggers around. I guess there’s a reason why this blog is called an Alfonso Cuarón Archive. ;)

David Heyman, Alfonso Cuarón, Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, and Jonás Cuarón on the red carpet at Venice

David Heyman, Alfonso Cuarón, Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, and Jonás Cuarón
on the red carpet at Venice

I was going to tell you that I’ve been having a very busy summer, but to tell you the truth, as I began to catch up with the clippings for Gravity from the last month (from Venice and from Telluride), I realised that I don’t really want to read the reviews before I get to see the movie for myself. I’ve been sitting on a copy of the screenplay for months for the same reason.

Fortunately, I am writing from my hometown Toronto, home of the Toronto International Film Festival where Gravity will receive a red carpet Canadian premiere this Sunday evening (September 8), and screen another three times before the festival closing (September 5 to 15).  I’ll do my best to get myself a ticket for one of the screenings, and do some red carpet creeping this weekend. It won’t be long now. :)

Besides Venice, Telluride, and Toronto, Gravity will screen at San Sebastian and Zurich before its commercial release October 4 (and then London and Morelia). I’ll be sure to catch up on archiving before then. In the meantime, I will leave you with this Daily Mail link: good ol’ red carpet fun: Sandra Bullock stuns in a scarlet strapless dress as she joins George Clooney at the Venice Film Festival premiere of Gravity

If you are really desperate to know, ScreenRant began summing up the many positive reviews from Venice (August 28) almost as soon as the critics hit send: ‘Gravity’ Early Reviews: Is Alfonso Cuarón’s Space Thriller a 3D Masterpiece?

Thoughts?

